Welsh Sports Hall of Fame
The Tribute to Legends of Sport in Wales
Welsh Sports Hall of Fame - Main Image

Latest News

SEPTEMBER 2010 Ryder Cup Europ generously donated a new display case to show Welsh Golf artefacts, added to the permanent exhibition at the Millennium Stadium.


JUNE 2010 addition of the Roll of Honour made at the Annual Dinner were Ian Woosnam (Golf), Alan Petherbridge (Judo), and Jack Kelsey (Soccer, posthumously). The Welsh Sports Journalist of the year award was shared between Hamish Stuart and Steve Pope. Special awards recognised recent achievements by Newport County AFC, Cardiff Blues and the Ospreys. 


JUNE 2009 At the 21st Dinner the following awards were made. Three additions to the Roll of Honour : J J Williams (rugby union) the flying winger who played in 30 consecutive matches for Wales and scored 7 tries for the British Lions in Tests in 1974 and 1977. Clive Sullivan (rugby league, posthumously) who played for both Hull and Hull Kingston Rovers and scored 406 tries in 639 games, was captain of Great Britain 9 times, including the 1972 World Cup when he scored the winning try against Australia. David Roberts (disability sports): the swimmer who has so far won 12 gold medals in Paralympic Games and holds world records. The Unsung Hero award sponsored by the WSA went to Ray Jones of Swim Wales, whilst the Welsh Sports Journalist of the Year was Robin Davey of the South Wales Argus. A special award was given to Enzo Calzaghe, and the Dinner also celebrated the World Cup Sevens win by Wales. Significant developments at the Millennium were announced by Lord Brooks (see Exhibitions section).

May 2008

the 20th Dinner was held at Cardiff City Hall on Friday 16th May 2008. Unusually no living additions were made to the Roll of Honour. Instead,  four significant anniversaries were celebrated, the centenary of the first rugby league international, the centenary of the first rugby union Grand Slam (and the tenth in 2008); the 50th anniversary of the Cardiff Empire and Commonwealth Games; and the 50th anniversary of Wales reaching the quarterfinals of the football World Cup.

Amongst those attending were Mike Nicholas of the rugby league, Roger Lewis and David Pickering of WRU, seven Welsh medallists from 1958 (Don Braithwaite, Malcolm Collins, John J Evans, Roger Maunder, John McCombe, Roger Pleace and David Prichard) and six of 1958 football squad (Colin Baker, Mel Charles, Mel Hopkins, Cliff Jones, Ken Jones and Terry Medwin).

The Sports Journalist of the Year award went to James Lawton, and the Unsung Hero award was presented by the Welsh Sports Association of Governing Bodies to John Taylor of South Gower Rugby Club. The sole inductee to the Roll of Honour was  Billy Trew of Swansea who played 29 times for Wales between 1900 and 1913 at wing, centre and fly half, including as captain in the first and second Grand Slams in 1908 and 1909. more than the classic utility player, he was described as "a truly creative rugby genius".

November 2007

In a private ceremony at Cardiff Castle, HRH The Prince of Wales presented Joe Calzaghe with a Lonsdale Belt in recognition of 10 years undefeated reign as Super Middle Weight World Boxing World Champion; and the belt was immediately donated to us (Welsh Sports Hall of Fame) to add to our extensive collection.

October 2007

Following the campaign of the Wales on Sunday newspaper 'Find Our Heroes A Home', Welsh Assembly Minister for Heritage, Rhodri Glyn Thomas, met the Chairman and Secretary of WSHF and pledged his support for the charity and, in particular, its search for a permanent home. (see Welsh Assembly website for full press release at www.wales.gov.uk/news/thirdassembly/culture/2007).

'The Welsh Sports Hall of Fame collection is a unique one and I would like to see more of the collection available for the people of Wales to view. I've agreed that the Welsh Assembly Government will assist the trustees of the Hall of Fame in developing a business case to apply for lottery funding, and also advise them on digitisation of  articles from the collection. We will also explore other ways in which we can work together.'

August - October 2007

Recent additions to the collection include Allan Watkins' England Cricket blazer (donated), Don Shepherd's Glamorgan Cricket sweater (donated), Jim Sullivan's 1932 RL Tour badge, and Wales 1905 team photo (donated by Rugby Relics).

June 2007

The new inductees were Phil Bennett (rugby), Joe Calzaghe (boxing), Arthur Gould (rugby - posthumously), and Helen Weston (netball).

Welsh Sports Hall of Fame - Featured Image

Joe Calzaghe inducted at the Annual Dinner 2007

Photo: andrew orchard www.aosportsphoto.com